Marathon Training, part dos

So I can’t remember if I even wrote about marathon training last year, so this could possibly be part uno. Even though I haven’t been using this space much, I thought it would be a good way to keep track of my training, hold me accountable, and possibly help someone else who may be thinking about running a marathon.

A little background … this will be my 2nd full marathon and I am registered for the Richmond marathon this November. I have run 11 half marathons, and numerous other 10K’s and 5K’s.

I’m following one of Hal Higdon’s training plans and hopefully actually incorporating more cross training and speed work this time around. My first marathon time was over 5 hours and I would really like to get under 5 hours and possibly even more like 4:45. We’ll see. My husband keeps mouthing “speed work” to me. Ugh.

Here are my stats for the week so far:

Week One Plan/Actual

Monday – XT (spin class) + 1 mile walk

Tuesday – 4 miles (Ran 3 with Ria)

Wednesday – Strength class AM/ XT PM (Spin class, no strength)

Thursday – 4 miles (moving this run to Friday)

Friday – rest (4 miles TO DO)

Saturday – 8 miles (instead, a rest day)

Sunday – yoga (8 miles/yoga)

So that is it in a nutshell. Waking around 5am several days a week is no fun, but I’m hoping like anything, it will get easier with time.

Leave a Reply

